Whats new
Shopping Cart: Rs 0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: Rs 0.00

Welcome to


Five coaches recommended for Dronacharya Award


Swatantra Raj Singh (boxing), Nihar Ameen (swimming) and Harbans Singh (athletics) Anoop Singh Dahiya (Wrestling) and Naval singh (Paralympics) were the five coaches recommended for Dronacharya Award. The selection panel headed by badminton player Dipankar Bhattacharjee included swimmer Bula choudhury, athlete Shiny Wilson, boxing coach G.S. Sandhu, wrestling coach Ramphal Mann, kabaddi coach E. Prasad Rao, journalists Lovleen Nigam and S.M. Barua, P. K. Garg of Services Sports Control Board, Sports Authority of India (SAI) Director General Injeti Srinivas and Joint Secretary in the Union Sports Ministry Onkar Kedia.


1. Swatantra Raj Singh [Boxing]


Swatantra Raj Singh has been associated with boxing since the 1980s and trained several prominent boxers, including Dharminder Singh Yadav, Jayadev Bisht, Sandeep Malik, Gurcharan Singh and Manoj Pingle.


2. Nihar Ameen [Swimming]


Nihar Ameen trained elite swimmers like Shikha Tandon, Virdhawal Khade and Sandeep Sejwal. 


3. Harbans Singh [Athletics]


He coached Paramjeet Singh, who broke Milkha Singh’s 38-year-old National record for 400m in 1998, and the batch of runners who won the 4x400m Asian Games silver medal in Bangkok.


Swatantra Raj Singh, Nihar Ameen and Harbans Singh were awarded under Lifetime Achievement Category in which achievements over a period of 20 years is taken into account. 


4. Anoop Singh Dahiya [Wrestling]


Anoop is three-time National Champion and international wrestler who trained top wrestlers such as Sushil Kumar, Yogeshwar Dutt, Satyawart Kadian, Bajrang, Amit Dahiya, and around 58 wrestlers to achieve their dream. 


5. Naval Singh [Paralympics]


Naval Singh was recommended for the fine performances of his wards, including Jyoti who bagged two bronze medals in the Para-Asian Games last year.


Anoop Singh and Naval Singh were recommended based on the current performance [2011-2014]


The recommendations will now be sent to the Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal who will take final decision. President Pranab Mukherjee will present the awards on National Sports Award which is on August 29.


Dronacharya Award:-


    • Dronacharya Award is an award presented by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, government of India for excellence in sports coaching.
    • The award comprises a bronze statuette of Dronacharya, a scroll of honour and a cash purse of Rs. 5,00,000 
    • The award was instituted in 1985.
    • Arjuna award is presented to the best sportsmen and Dronacharya is presented to best coaches as Dronacharya was the guru of Arjuna in Mahabharata.
    • Dronacharya Awards are given to the trainers and coaches with consistent outstanding performance at:
      1  -  Global Olympic events
      2  -  Sports disciplines recognized by the government
      3  -  Indigenous sports recognized by the government 
  • B.I. Fernandez is the first forign coach to be awarded Dronacharya Award.