Whats new
Shopping Cart: Rs 0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: Rs 0.00

Welcome to


Union Government announced names of 98 smart cities

smart city  

The Union Government declared the names of 98 cities for its ambitious smart cities project. The aspirant cities were selected by the States and Union Territories on the parametres set by the Centre. The selected cities include 12 cities from Uttar Pradesh, 12 from Tamil Nadu, 10 from Maharashtra, 7 from Madhya Pradesh, 3 each from Bihar and Andhra Pradesh. All other states have also got one or two cities for the purpose, except Jammu and Kashmir. Nearly 13 crore population across 98 cities, which constitute 35 percent of urban population, will be covered under the mission.

Government will release two crore rupees each for the cities for the preparation of the smart city plan in the next few days.Union government proposes to give financial support to the Mission to the extent of 48000 crores rupees over next five years. Of this amount, two hundred crore rupees will be released during the first year.In Maharashtra Navi Mumbai,Nashik,Thane,Greater Mumbai,Amravati,Solapur,Nagpur,Kalyan-Dombivilli,Aurangabad and Pune are selected for smart city groups.