Whats new
Shopping Cart: Rs 0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: Rs 0.00

Welcome to


Lionel Messi, Carli Lloyd has won the FIFA Ballon d'Or award for world player of the year




Barcelona and Argentina forward Lionel Messi won the FIFA Ballon d'Or award for the world player of the year. Messi, who won the award for a fifth time, finished ahead of Real Madrid and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo and Barcelona and Brazil forward Neymar in the annual poll organised by football's governing body.

American Carli Lloyd won the FIFA women's world player of the year award. The 33-year-old scored a hat-trick in the USA's 5-2 win over Japan to win the World Cup last year, having also scored the winning goals for her country in the Olympic Games finals of 2008 and 2012. Spain's Luis Enrique won the coach of the year award. Enrique led Barcelona to a treble of Champions League, La Liga and Spanish Cup trophies last season.English-born Jill Ellis, coach of the American team that won last year's World Cup in Canada, took the women's award.
• FIFA Ballon d'Or: Lionel Messi (Argentina & FC Barcelona)
• FIFA Women's World Player of the Year: Carli Lloyd of US
• FIFA Puskas Award : Wendell Lira of Vila Nova
• FIFA Fair Play Award : All football organisations supporting refugees
• FIFA World Coach of the Year (Men's) : Luis Enrique of FC Barcelona
• FIFA World Coach of the Year (Women's) : Jill Ellis, US women football team

One of Lionel's nicknames is 'The Flea' due to his speed and agility.
Messi shares his birthplace with the Argentinian revolutionary Che Guevera.
Argentine's first contract with Barcelona was detailed out on a paper napkin as Barcelona sporting director Carles Rexach was so impressed with Messi's skills that he wanted to make a contract immediately.
Messi holds two passports - Argentina's and Spain's. He became a Spanish citizen in September 2005.