Whats new
Shopping Cart: Rs 0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: Rs 0.00

Welcome to


KP Sharma Oli elected as the Prime Minister of Nepal

K.P. Sharma Oli

Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) CPN-UML Chairman K.P. Sharma Oli has been elected as the new Prime Minister of Nepal.
Oli secured 338 votes in a parliamentary ballot on Sunday, defeating Nepali Congress President Sushil Koirala, who got 249. He defeated incumbent Prime Minister Sushil Koirala of the Nepali Congress. In the voting held for the Nepal’s Parliament (a house of 597 members), Oli secured 338 votes, 39 more than the 299 that he needed to be elected as the prime minister. On the other hand, Nepali Congress president Koirala could only secure 249 votes.
Oli, a Naxalite who was arrested in 1972, and tried and convicted in sedition charge, was backed by the Unified Communist Party of Nepal-Maoists and the pro-monarchy Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal, respectively. The Nepali Congress led by Koirala, the largest party in the House, will be sitting in the opposition. Oli, who spent 14 years in prison, was elected to parliament first in 1991 when the country adopted multi-party democracy. He subsequently became home minister, and then elevated to the rank of a deputy prime minister.