Whats new
Shopping Cart: Rs 0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: Rs 0.00

Welcome to


British-Indian Sunjeev Sahota shortlisted for Man Booker Prize 2015

Sunjeev Sahota

British-Indian author Sunjeev Sahota was on 2015 shortlisted for the prestigious Man Booker Prize 2015.

Sahota's novel The Year of the Runaways, his second novel, centres around the lives of 13 Indian men who live in a house in Sheffield, each in desperate search of a new life. Tarlochan, a former rickshaw driver, will say nothing about his past in Bihar; and Avtar has a secret that binds him to protect the chaotic Randeep. Randeep, in turn, has a visa-wife in a flat on the other side of town: a clever, devout woman whose cupboards are full of her husband's clothes, in case the immigration men surprise her with a call.Sweeping between India and England and between childhood and the present day, The Year of the Runaways is a story of an unlikely family thrown together by circumstance. Sahota is among the six novelists short-listed for the award. The winner of the prize will be announced on 13 October 2015 and will be presented with the prize money of 50000 British pounds.

Other Novelists short-listed
The others whose books have been short-listed are:
• British writer Tom McCarthy for his book Satin Island
• Anne Tyler (US) for A Spool of Blue Thread
• Hanya Yanagihara (US) for A Little Life
• Marlon James (Jamaica) for A Brief History of Seven Killings
• Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria) for The Fishermen

About Man Booker Prize
• The prize was launched in 1969 with an aim to promote the finest in fiction by rewarding the best novel of the year written in English and published in the United Kingdom.
• To maintain the consistent excellence of the Man Booker Prize, the judges are chosen from a wide range of disciplines including critics, writers, academics, poets, politicians and actors, all with a passion for quality fiction.
• The winner of the Man Booker Prize is awarded with the prize money of 50000 british pounds and all the shortlisted authors are awarded with a cheque of 2500 british pounds.