Whats new
Shopping Cart: Rs 0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: Rs 0.00

Welcome to


SASTRA prize for Dr. Jacob Tsimerman

SASTRA prize

The 2015 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize will be awarded to Jacob Tsimerman of the University of Toronto, Canada.

The prize will be awarded during the International Conference on Number Theory at SASTRA University in Tamil Nadu’s Kumbakonam (Ramanujan’s hometown) where the prize has been given annually, according to a release.

The SASTRA Ramanujan Prize was established in 2005 and is awarded annually for outstanding contributions by young mathematicians to areas influenced by the mathematics genius Srinivasa Ramanujan.

About SASTRA Ramanujan
Prize The award has been named after great Indian Mathematician autodidact Srinivasa Ramanujan. It was established in 2005 by Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (SASTRA) University. It is an annual award bestowed on young mathematicians for his outstanding contributions to areas of mathematics influenced by the Srinivasa Ramanujan.

The age limit for the prize is 32 because Ramanujan had achieved so much in his brief life of 32 years. The prize is given annually to recipient at Kumbakonam which is Ramanujan’s hometown. It should be noted that every year 22nd December is observed as National Mathematics Day to mark birth anniversary of Srinivasa Ramanujan. Srinivasa Ramanujan is considered as doyen of number theory, infinite series, mathematical analysis, and making formulas and equations without any formal training in pure mathematics.