Whats new
Shopping Cart: Rs 0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: Rs 0.00

Welcome to


Indian-American professor R Paul Singh named for 2015 World Agriculture Prize laureate


Fazle Hasan Abed of Bangladesh has been named as the winner of the 2015 World Food Prize. He is founder and chairman of Bangladesh-based non-governmental organisation (NGO) BRAC (originally known as Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee) which is world’s largest NGO. Since its formation, BRAC is being credited for helping more than 150 million people out of poverty. It also had actively participated and fought in 1971 Indo-Pakistan war for independence of Bangladesh from Pakistan. Later BRAC had grown into one of the world’s largest NGO with prime focus on alleviating poverty. It has expanded its operations in more than 10 countries especially in Asia and Africa. For contributions to social improvement, Fazle Hasan Abed he been bestowed with prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award (2010) and UNDP’s Mahbub Ul Haq Award (also known as Human Development Award) in 2004.

Since its formation, 7 Indians have won it. They are Dr Sanjaya Rajaram (2014), Dr Modadugu Vijay Gupta (2005), Dr Surinder K. Vasal (2000), Dr B. R. Barwale (1998), Dr Gurdev Khush (1996), Dr Verghese Kurien (1989) and Prof. M. S. Swaminathan (1987)