Whats new
Shopping Cart: Rs 0.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: Rs 0.00

Welcome to


Three cheers for India at Wimbledon


Sania-Martina women’s queens

INDIAN tennis star Sania Mirza scripted history by becoming the first from the country to win a women’s doubles Grand Slam trophy as she lifted the Wimbledon title with Swiss partner Martina Hingis after a stunning come-from-behind triumph, here.

Twelve years after turning Pro, 28-year-old Sania laid hands on her first women’s doubles Major title when she and Hingis battled past the second seeded Russian team of Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina 5-7, 7-6 (4), 7-5 in a thrilling final.

In what can be considered an interesting coincidence, it was at these very historic courts that Sania had won the women’s doubles junior Wimbledon championship with Russian partner Alisa Kleybanova in 2003.

She had become India’s first woman player to win a Grand Slam when she won the Australian Open with compatriot Mahesh Bhupathi in 2009.

She later added the French Open (2012 with Bhupathi) and US Open (2014 with Bruno Soares) to her mixed doubles collection. In final match, it was a remarkable turnaround for the top seeds as they were trailing 2-5 in the deciding set but made a stunning comeback to reel off five straight games to clinch the issue.

Paes-Hingis ‘mixed’ royals

A VINTAGE Leander Paes clinched his 16th Grand Slam trophy, winning the mixed doubles event of the Wimbledon Championship with legendary Martina Hingis after a dominating win over Alexander Peya and Timea Babos. It was Paes’ eighth mixed doubles title and second with Hingis. They had won the Australian Open early this year.

The 42-year-old Paes has eight men’s doubles crowns in his Grand Slam collection. He won it thrice in Wimbledon. In 1999, Paes won it with American Lisa Raymond, in 2003 with the legendary Martina Navratilova and in 2010 with Zimbabwean Cara Black. He has also won the men’s doubles title here with Mahesh Bhupathi way back in 1999.

Paes’ win capped an incredibly successful Wimbledon for India as the country took three titles this year.

For Hingis, it was second title in as many days, having won the women’s doubles with Sania. Overall it was 18th Major title for the Swiss and third in mixed doubles. Hingis was back on court less than 24 hours after that win with Sania but showed no sign of fatigue. She served well and was terrific at the net, complementing the Indian Pro.

Nagal is junior prince

YOUNGSTER Sumit Nagal entered the history books as only sixth Indian to win a Grand Slam junior title after winning the boys doubles trophy at the Wimbledon championships with partner Nam Hoang Ly.   Seventeen-year-old Nagal and his eighth seed Vietnamese partner overcame the fourth seeds Reilly Opelka and Akira Santillan 7-6 (4), 6-4 in the title clash that lasted 63 minutes. Yuki Bhambri was the last Indian to taste success at the top level in junior tennis when he won the Australian Open boys singles title in 2009.

Ramanathan Krishnan (Wimbledon, 1954), Ramesh Krishnan (French Open and Wimbledon, 1979) and Leander Paes (Wimbledon 1990, US Open 1991) are the other junior Grand Slam singles champions from India. There was little to separate the two pairs as the winners won 65 points, only three more than their rivals.

Nagal and his partner broke their opponents in the 10th game of the second set and that proved decisive in the outcome of the match.

Men’s Singles Title: Defending Champion Novak Djokovic of Serbia won the 2015 Men’s Singles Wimbledon Title. In the final match, he defeated Roger Federer of Switzerland by 7-6(7-1), 6-7(10-12), 6–4, 6-3 score. It is Djokovic’s 3rd Wimbledon Title (2011, 2014 and 2015) overall 12th men’s single Grand Slam title.

Women’s Singles Title: Serena Williams of United States has won Women’s Singles Wimbledon title at 2015. In the final match played she defeated Garbine Muguruza of Spain by 6-4, 6-4 score. It is Williams’ sixth Women’s Singles Wimbledon title (2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2015) and overall 21th Grand Slam title.

Women’s Doubles Title: Sania Mirza (India) and Martina Hingis (Switzerland) pair won the 2015 women’s Doubles Wimbledon Title. In the final match, they defeated Russian pair of Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina.

Men’s Doubles Title: Jean-Julien Rojer (Netherlands) and Horia Tecau (Romania) pair won the 2015 men’s Doubles Wimbledon Title. In the final match they defeated Jamie Murray (UK) and John Peers (Australia).

Mixed Doubles Title: Leander Paes (India) and Martina Hingis (Switzerland) pair won the 2015 Mixed Doubles Wimbledon Title. In the final match, they defeated Alexander Peya (Austria) and Tímea Babos (Hungary).

Boys’ Doubles Title: Sumit Nagal (India) and Lý Hoàng Nam (Vietnam) pair won the 2015 Boy’s Doubles Wimbledon Title. In the final match they defeated Reilly Opelka (US) and Akira Santillan (Japan).